low thyroid

I started to read a book on Food & Mood and have ready other information on the internet re low thyroid.

I have had my levels checked and it is in the “average” range.

Where does this range come from?

What is the range?

When did doctors last update these levels?, as these “average” levels do not work for a large portion of the population.

Can they revisit these levels and see that they are not suitable for a lot of people?

If your levels are in the “average” range and you still have all the symptoms, do doctors not investigate further or realise that these levels dont work for everything and try you on a course of medication to see if it helps?

I talked to my doctor about my thyroid levels and asked him if I could try a course of medication to see if it helps, as I dont think the “average” levels are for everyone.  So he has given me a lose dose medication to try.

He said it cant hurt, as a lot of women as their doctors for the medication to lose weight.  (I didnt know that).

I guess it fastens their metabolism and helps them lose weight???  I havent lost any weight yet, but that was not my purpose, I just want to have energy like everyone else, as all I do around work is sleep.  Losing a little bit of weight would be a bonus though!

I have been on them for 1.5 weeks and this week I am finding it easier to get up in the morning,  not needing to nap for 2 – 3 hours after work, sleeping better and am more alert during the day and it hasnt even been 2 weeks!

I know it takes about 1 month for it to take full effect, so here’s hoping that the way Im feeling improves and remains.

AND Ive even done three blogs this week!!! and read some as well!!!

Watch this space…

 

4 thoughts on “low thyroid

  1. Wow, it sounds like you might be on to something. That’s great news! I hope you continue to experience such positive results. I think it’s really good you’re such an advocate for yourself with your doctor (well, and that he was willing to give your idea a try!)

Leave a Reply

