pristiq

This is the shrinks drug of choice for me at The Black Dog Institute.

It works to a degree.  It has reduced the amount of time I think about suicide, but does not eliminate it entirely.

It makes me flat most of the time compared to depressed all the time.

My GP seemed to think it would make a huge difference.  I would be more motivated, happier etc.  Not so. 😦

I was really looking forward to that.  To kind of feeling happy and energetic like I assume most “normal” state of minded people feel.

I am on the highest level suggested, so can take no more than 200mg per day.

I used to take Lovan before this and during the first month of taking this, I felt amazing.  I just wanted to smile all the time and an induced happiness feeling that I would have definitely become used to!

Then it stopped working, even after three increases in my dosage.

I dont really want to have to wean myself of this drug and try another one.  The process scares me a little.

Which drug seems to be successful for you?

 

What is PRISTIQ?

PRISTIQ (desvenlafaxine) is a prescription medication that’s

FDA approved to treat depression in adults.

PRISTIQ belongs to a class of medications called

serotonin-norepinephrine reuptake inhibitors (SNRIs).

How does PRISTIQ work?

Depression is a serious medical condition that can hold you back from what you enjoy. And while no one knows for certain what causes it, experts believe that depression results.

Information from http://www.pristiq.com.

SELECTIVE SEROTONIN REUPTAKE INHIBITORS (SSRI’S)

Currently, SSRI’s are the most popular antidepressant/antianxiety drugs. They work by having a selective effect on nerves that use serotonin as a transmitter by restoring serotonin levels at the synapses thereby decreasing anxiety levels. The are more widely used due to the fewer side effects they have compared with other antidepressants. Some side effects may occur at the beginning of treatment, however often pass as treatment progresses.

Common side effects: Nausea, drowsiness, delayed orgasm, dry mouth, sleeplessness.

Reference: Burns, M.D., (1999) ‘The Feeling Good Handbook’, Chapter 24, p.505 – 524 passim, Plume Publications.

SEROTONIN & NORADRENALINE RE-UPTAKE INHIBITORS (SNRI’s)

SNRI’s are slightly different to SSRI’s in that they work to balance the levels of both serotonin and norepinephrine in your brain. These chemicals affect your mood, appetite, sense of well-being, motivation, and sleep. Balancing these levels is an important step in reducing your anxiety, related depression and overall sense of well being.

Potential side effects: nausea, dizziness, sleepiness, delayed ejaculation, sweating, dry mouth, nervousness, insomnia, anorexia, and constipation.

Information on SNRI’s provided by Dr. Greenfield, a general practitioner from Brisbane, Australia.

7 thoughts on “pristiq

  1. Please listen to your body! You still need to work at keeping thoughts at bay. Took me awhile to learn that since these drugs are usually sold as being THE drug to fix your issues.

    I’m starting a new medication, first time in 5 years, so we’ll see how that goes.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

